The current Board was elected at the Annual General Meeting in July 2020 and will serve until the next AGM in July-2021. The Board of ASFA is:

President — David Hains

          David is a mental health nurse who works full-time as a Nurse Consultant in a public hospital Emergency Department in Adelaide. David coordinates the SF Community of Practice in South Australia. In his spare time David also runs a small private training and consultancy business called Left Turn. For more info on David please click here

Vice-President (Aust) — This role is currently vacant


Vice-President (New Zealand) — Emma Burns

          Emma is a psychologist employed by New Zealand Police. She is currently working as a Psychology Advisor, delivering Solution Focused training to police. In her spare time Emma delivers Solution Focused suicide prevention workshops, and is also a mother of four and a competitive swimmer. Emma co-ordinates a Solution-Focused discussion/support/interest group in Hawkes Bay.

Secretary — This role is currently vacant

          The Secretary position was made vacant at a meeting of the Board on 20/10/2020. We are looking for new Board Members. If you are interested in being more involved in the ASFA then please contact David Hains for a no-obligation chat.  

Treasurer — John Penny

          John is a School Counsellor, Parramatta Catholic Education, where he was previously Manager of Counselling and Behavioural Programs at Parramatta Catholic Education.

Board member  — Andrea Lemm

          Andrea is a social worker working in child protection in Dunedin, New Zealand.

Board member  – Michele Orr

          Michele is Nurse Practitioner, Team Leader and pioneer of the Brief Intervention Team in Adult Community Mental Health in Eastern Metropolitan Melbourne.   The Brief Intervention Team practice SFBT. 

Board member  — Edwin Tan

          Edwin is a registered social worker in Singapore and currently an Executive Director of a community based social service agency. Edwin has been learning and teaching SFBT for the past 20 years and was trained by Insoo Kim Berg and her team of international trainers. 

Board member - Adrian Holmes

          Adrian is a family therapist, clinical supervisor and SF trainer based in Brisbane, Australia. Adrian has been working in the human services field for 10 years and is currently completing PhD research related to mental health and social policy. Adrian co-founded the training and supervision organisation Tools For Hard Conversations and recently released his first book entitled Tools For Hard Conversations in the Helping Professions